Gender Bend Cosplay in Progress!

Hey all,

So every year my fiancee and I pick some cool characters and show up to New York Comic Con in cosplay for some fun and geeky shenanigans. I am just starting to put my costume together. Two years ago I was the Mother of Dragons herself, Daenerys Stormborn of the House Targaryen, the first of her name, the Unburnt, Queen of Meereen, Queen of the Andals and Rhoynar and the First Men, Khaleesi of the Great Grass Sea, Breaker of Chains and…momma to three fire-breathing babies. (Can you figure out who I want to see on the Iron Throne at the conclusion of A Song of Ice and Fire? 🐲)

Oh, and my fiancee went as Ezio Auditore. Pretty damn awesome if you ask me.

Last year we shifted to the comic theme (it is Comic Con, after all) and went matching as Felicia Hardy (Black Cat) and Spiderman. (Check out the profile pic!)

This year, I wanted to be my favorite avenger. The noble defender of the country, the chivalrous gentleman, the first Avenger, Steve Rogers, Captain America. Sigh…he is SO noble, a true paragon of integrity. Alas, I am an amateur sewer at best, and my specific vision for my feminized version of Captain was too complicated for me to do. Another con, perhaps. So instead, I am doing…

THE WINTER SOLDIER!

Winter_Soldier_promo

Of course, that cybernetic arm will be quite a challenge. Thankfully, I have some time to figure out how I will accomplish that. Any general suggestions/tips for engineering any part of the costume are welcomed (hint hint!) The only difference in the outfit I want is a more feminine top. It will be my first *slightly* interpretive cosplay, since my others have all been pretty much exact copies of the original characters. I am so excited for this one! I will keep everyone updated as I keep working on compiling materials for the cosplay.

Also, keep an eye out as I keep playing with this site and trying to make it aesthetically pleasing. And thanks for the likes/views! Again, bear with me as I get more accustomed to blogging and figuring out a good schedule for posting. I will definitely be posting at least 2 times weekly, though. Maybe more if I get enough followers (again, hint hint!) Thanks for reading 😉

Scroll on, friends.

~C

Leave a comment